Excellence in Creativity

The annual Award for Excellence in Creativity is given to a person or organization who has demonstrated excellence in the creation of copyrightable works of authorship. Award recipients have devoted their careers or missions to creating or fostering the creation of copyrightable works. Criteria include the quality and social value of the candidate’s work, the breadth or inclusiveness of style or media, and the recognition the candidate has received in the community.


  • The Santa Fe Opera, 2011
  • Aaron Sorkin, 2012
  • Harry Ransom Center, Austin, Texas, 2013
  • Stephen Schwartz, 2014
  • George Massenburg, 2015
  • Nashville Songwriters Association International (NSAI), 2015
  • Scott Turow, 2016
  • Frans Lanting, 2017
  • Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD), 2018
  • Steve Cropper, 2019
  • The Center for Creative Photography at the University of Arizona, 2020
  • Janet Lewin, 2021
  • Second City, 2022
  • Sonny Bono, 2023